32nd Winter School in Theoretical Physics

100 Years to General Relativity: From Theory to Experiment and Back

Event date: December 29 - January 8, 2015

    General Director: David Gross (UCSB , KITP)
    Eliezer Rabinovici (The Hebrew University)




    Thibault Damour (Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques) General Relativity and Experiment
    Mark Van Raamsdonk (University of British Columbia)Gravity and Entanglement
    Jacob Bekenstein (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)Dispensing with Least Action in Field Theory
    Viacheslav F. Mukhanov (Ludwig Maximilians Universität, München)Basics of Cosmology
    Hermann Nicolai (Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Potsdam-Golm)Maximal Supergravity and Beyond
    Joseph Polchinski (University of California at Santa Barbara)String Theory and Black Hole Information
    Juan Maldacena (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)Quantum Mechanics and Spacetime
    Gary W. Gibbons (University of Cambridge)Black Holes
    Efraim HalevyCharting a Course in a Decade of Turbulence
    Kip S. Thorne (California Institute of Technology)Gravitational Waves: A New Window onto the Universe
    James P. Peebles (Princeton University)Transformative Advances and Open Issues in the LCDM Cosmology
    Tsvi Piran (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)Astrophysical Black Holes
    Leo Corry (Tel-Aviv University)Einstein Meets Hilbert on the Way to General Relativity: Who Arrives First?
    Jürgen Renn (The Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin) The Renaissance of General Relativity - A New Reading (with Alexander Blum)
    David Gross (University of California at Santa Barbara)

    Round Table: Astrophysics and Cosmology

    Round Table: String Theory

    Avner Kaidar (Technion, Israel Institute of Technology)GPS Concepts and Relativity
    Nima Arkani-Hamed (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)Don't Modify GR (in the IR)-Understand It!



    Scientific Committee:

    Ofer Aharony, Weizmann Institute
    Shmuel Elitzur, The Hebrew University
    Amit Giveon, The Hebrew University
    Barak Kol, The Hebrew University
    Yaron Oz, Tel Aviv  University




    • IIAS
    • CERN
    • ISF
    • HUJI
    • The I-CORE Program of the Planning and Budgeting Committee and The Israel Science Foundation (grant No. 1937/12)