The Michael Bruno Memorial Award 

The Michael Bruno Memorial Awards are presented each year to Israeli scholars and scientists who display exceptional promise, and whose achievements to date suggest future breakthroughs in their respective fields.

Professor Michael Bruno served as Governor of the Bank of Israel from 1986 – 1991, and was Chair of the Board of the Rothschild Prizes Organization. After his untimely death in 1996, it was decided to create the awards and dedicate them to his memory.

The awards were first presented in 1999, and were coordinated and presided over by Yad Hanadiv until 2011. In 2012 the Israel Institute for Advanced Studies [IIAS] stepped into the leadership role. The IIAS Board of Directors, chaired by  IIAS Director, reviews the candidates and selects the recipients of the award.

The awards are open to all fields of research, irrespective of the candidates’ gender and affiliation. Candidates must be under fifty years of age, and must conduct their research in Israel.


For a full list of Bruno Laureates (1999-2017) click HERE.