Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

2019 Open Call for Bruno Award

2019 Open Call





The Israel Institute for Advanced Studies (IIAS) hereby invites all full professors (current or emeriti) at Israeli research institutions to nominate candidates for the Michael Bruno Memorial Award for young scholars.

Questions may be directed to Ms. Keren Rechnitzer, IIAS Secretary, at 


About the Award

The Award was created in 1999 in honor of the late Professor Michael Bruno, a pioneer scholar in economics and the former Governor of the Bank of Israel. Each year, the IIAS selects up to three Israeli scholars from all disciplines of academia under the age of 50 to receive the award. We are looking for extraordinary and talented candidates who are engaged in innovative and creative research and who display leadership potential. Candidates should be active researchers at one of Israel’s research institutions.

A total of 59 researchers have received this prestigious prize to date. A list of past recipients of the award can be found at this link:

As of 2012, the IIAS is responsible for the nomination and selection processes. Each Award consists of a $45,000 personal grant for unrestricted use by the Bruno awardee. In addition, awardees receive a $50,000 grant to be used in pursuit of their research agenda in collaboration with the IIAS. The IIAS Board of Directors is responsible for approving the use of grant money associated with the Award.


Who can nominate Bruno candidates?

The nominator must be a full professor or professor emeritus from any Israeli research institution. Each nominator may nominate only one candidate. No self-nominations will be accepted.


Candidate Eligibility

Eligibility is limited to faculty of Israeli research institutions. Candidates must be under 50 years of age as of February 15, 2019.


Nomination Process

The nomination deadline is March 1, 2019.

Nomination deadline has passed!

The nomination form and all attached materials must be in English.

In the online form the nominator is asked to enter the following details:

  1. The candidate’s personal information: full name, date of birth, affiliation.
  2. Short presentation of your reasons for nominating the candidate (maximum 150 words).
  3. Description of your relationship to the candidate, including comments pertaining to any potential conflicts of interest.
  4. A list of the candidate's three most significant publications, including a full reference for each publication.
  5. A list of 3-4 international experts in the candidate’s field and their contact information.


In addition to the above, the nominator will provide the following documents:

  1. The candidate’s professional CV, including no more than 10 of their most important research publications.
  2. A letter written by the nominator recommending the candidate (maximum 750 words). Please address the following points:
    1. Explain the reasons you believe the candidate is deserving of the Bruno Award
    2. Describe your view of the candidate’s impact on the relevant research field (past and future) and potential for unique contributions.
  3. A letter from an additional faculty member in Israel (need not be a full professor but should be from a different institution than the nominator).

Incomplete applications will not be considered.


The Selection Process

The selection committee is comprised of the IIAS Board of Directors and the IIAS Director.

The selection is completed in two phases: first, the list of candidates will be narrowed to a shortlist. Second, each candidate on the shortlist will be evaluated with the help of detailed letters from at least four international experts.



March 1, 2019             Deadline for submission of the nomination application

May 1, 2019                All materials from international experts are received

June 30, 2019              Announcement of the 2019 Bruno Award winners

January 2020               The Michael Bruno Memorial Awards Ceremony